First Offense DUI Lawyer in Delaware

A first offense DUI is what it sounds like – a first DUI. The first time you get arrested for DUI, you get charged with DUI 1st. Do not confuse the charge with the Delaware First Offenders Program (FOP), which is discussed below.

When you get charged with DUI 1st, you are facing a fine of $500 to $1,500, imprisonment up to six months, and a mandatory alcohol evaluation and course of instruction or rehabilitation program.

There are hidden costs of a DUI conviction. These include the increase in your insurance premium, fines, court costs, lost wages and the shame of a criminal conviction. In March 2011, MSNBC ran an article titled “DUI: The $10,000 Ride Home”, detailing the hidden costs of a DUI conviction. In the words of MSNBC, “a driving-under-the-influence conviction is a financial wrecking ball”.

The most important thing to know about your First Offense DUI in Delaware is that there are two cases. There is the criminal case, for which you will likely have a mandatory appearance in JP Court. There is also the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) case. This is your license revocation case. Once you are charged with DUI, you get a piece of paper from the police officer. The piece of paper is your “temporary license”. It last for fifteen days. At the end of fifteen days, it expires and your license is revoked. The only way to stop the revocation is to request a “fair hearing” from the Department of Motor Vehicles Driver License Revocation Section in the County where you were arrested. This must be done within the fifteen day timeframe.

I handle First Offense DUIs in all Delaware counties. If you have been arrested for DUI in Delaware, please call me to discuss your case.

First Offense DUI Lawyer in Delaware

Click or Call 1-855-TIP-THE-SCALES

Send us an Email:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone # (required)


Date of Arrest

Court Date (if one has been set)


Additional Information

To prevent spam, please enter captcha below