BUI Attorney in Dover Preserving Your Boating Rights and Reducing Your Charges
Alcohol and boating do not mix the same way drinking and driving a car don’t mix. The rules of the road are the same as those of the water with this: The rules of the road when it comes to DUI are similar to the rules on the water for Boating Under the Influence.
Alcohol affects judgment, vision, balance, and coordination. Boating under the influence is the number one cause of fatal boating accidents, ranging from 15 to 40 percent in many states. The United States Coast Guard says that in alcohol-related fatalities, more than half the victims capsized their boats or went overboard.
People drinking while boating can face significant fines, possible jail time, or in more severe cases, a prison sentence if an accident causes bodily harm or death. Whether your first offense or third DUI offense, it’s essential to understand your rights and the possible implications of a BUI charge.
Prevent jail time, a loss of driving privileges, and other penalties by consulting a team of experienced BUI attorneys with Delaware DUI Defender. Have your case reviewed today when you call: (302) 678-8700.
What are the Boating Rules in Dover, DE?
Staying safe and keeping others safe on the water is the number one priority in boating. Alcohol consumption works against this important rule.
According to Delaware boating laws and regulations, all operators born after December 31, 1977, must have a Delaware Boating Safety Education Certificate to operate any motorized watercraft.
In addition, every boat must have at least one U.S. Coast Guard-approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device for every person on board, and all boaters under 12 years of age must wear one at all times, with certain exceptions.
Delaware law prohibits operating, having command of, or being in physical control of a vessel or boat while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A boat driver must not exceed a BAC level of .08 percent or greater, which includes a combination of drugs and alcohol.
The boating rules are explicit regarding alcohol and drug consumption while operating a boat or conducting activities on a boat, such as water skiing. You are at risk of being arrested for boating under the influence.
Our team of BUI attorneys can answer questions regarding boating rules and boating under the influence. Contact us or call (302) 678-8700.
How Will a Boating Under the Influence Charge Affect My Life?
Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level and whether any bodily injury, property damage, or harm was inflicted upon other passengers or boaters will dictate your sentence and penalties.
If convicted, Boating under the influence can result in a misdemeanor or felony charge. One or more offenses can result in misdemeanor charges with varying penalties, such as jail time and significant fines. Third BUI or repeat violations and accidents that cause bodily harm or death can lead to a felony conviction.
With boating under the influence, you could experience jail time, lost wages due to imprisonment, a criminal record, and debt related to court costs, attorney fees, and other fines. Our BUI attorneys will help you understand your rights and provide consultation as you weigh your options instead of pleading guilty and facing maximum consequences.
Call us today for valuable legal guidance: (302) 678-8700.
What are the Charges for Driving a Boat Drunk?
Boating is a fun recreational activity that is synonymous with drinking and partying. For this reason, many people share the misguided view that drinking while boating is much different than drinking while driving a car.
Research shows that one-third of the amount of alcohol it takes to make a person legally intoxicated on land can make a boater equally drunk on the water.
Boating while under the influence can increase the chances of a person causing an accident or head-on collision, putting passengers and other boaters in danger. From charges of operator inattention, improper lookout, excessive speed, careless driving, and more, you could face severe penalties if caught driving a boat while drinking.
- Fines of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to six months for a first offense.
- Fines of up to $2,000 and imprisonment for up to 18 months for a second offense
- Fines of up to $3,000 and imprisonment for up to two years for a third offense
If you are facing charges for drinking while driving a boat or have caused injuries to other passengers or boaters, get an immediate legal consultation from our experienced BUI attorneys. Call us today: (302) 678-8700.
When Should I Hire a BUI Lawyer?
Every BUI case is different, and it’s important not to react, make rash decisions, or assume guilt. An experienced attorney can help you understand how the law specifically applies to your situation, which is the first step in gaining some clarity around your charges and a possible resolution.
Suppose you are being charged with BUI. In this case, if you have prior DUI offenses and your boating accident caused another person injury or bodily harm, our experienced attorneys can guide your steps and build a case that leads to a more favorable outcome rather than accepting the maximum sentence.
When you hire us to represent you, there are specific strategies we can deploy, such as pinpointing contradictions, errors, or omissions in the prosecutor’s case, or in misdemeanor situations, especially first offenses, we might be able to push for a pretrial postponement of your case.
It’s possible to be proactive in your BUI case, including finding the right BUI attorney to represent you. Contact Delaware DUI Defender today to see how we can help: (302) 678-8700.