DUI Attorney in Wilmington, DE Building a Case in Your Defense Against a DUI Conviction
For one of every 120 miles driven in Delaware, a person with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .10 sat behind the wheel, according to drunk-driving.com. Driving under the influence with a BAC of .08 percent or higher puts you and other drivers on the road in danger—even if the impairment isn’t apparent to you.
Drunk driving accidents are deadly and more severe than other types of crashes. Driving under the influence causes unnecessary injury, death, property damage, pain, and suffering. The criminal justice system is designed to punish offenders, especially repeat offenders, to the fullest extent of the law.
When the odds are against you, our Wilmington DUI attorneys can build a case in your defense against one or more DUI convictions—from a first offense to a third offense—and be the support you need during a challenging time.
How Many DUI Charges Can You Have?
A person can commit multiple DUI offenses in a short period, including a first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth DUI offense. DUI convictions remain on a person’s record for five years, and the first two DUIs are typically misdemeanor charges unless extenuating circumstances are involved.
In Delaware, unlike other states, all prior DUI convictions count against you, regardless of how long ago they occurred. This includes out-of-state convictions. These offenses can add up quickly and turn into a legal burden.
The more DUI offenses you have, in addition to any prior convictions or a criminal background, you will face jail time, significant fines, attorney and court fees, loss of driving privileges, and mandatory alcohol and substance abuse treatment.
If you have one or more DUI charges, get a quick consultation from our DUI lawyers to see where you stand. Call our Wilmington office at (302) 654-4930.
What is a DUI Misdemeanor Charge?
In the State of Delaware, the General Assembly creates the statutory laws. The General Assembly made First and Second Offense DUI charges misdemeanors, while third-offense (or more) DUI charges are deemed felonies. Legal penalties like jail time and fines vary depending on the offense.
With a first offense, you can face six to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,500, and 12 to 24 months of license revocation if convicted. In a second offense, you’re one crime away from felony status and could spend up to 18 months in prison, pay fines of up to $2,500 and get your license revoked for a more extended period.
Another factor that influences a misdemeanor versus a felony conviction is whether any aggravating factors are involved, such as a dangerous BAC level, if injury or death occurred, and other similar factors.
Don’t let a misdemeanor charge hang over your head. Find out what you can do about it when you call our experienced DUI attorneys: (302) 654-4930.
What is a Felony DUI Charge?
If you are caught drinking and driving a third time, a third DUI offense is a class G felony. As a different example, if you injure someone in a car accident, kill another person, damage property, or get caught driving with a minor passenger under the age of 18, you are likely to face a felony charge.
A third offense in Delaware requires three months of mandatory jail time and up to 24 months of incarceration, a drug and alcohol abstinence program, fines of up to $3,000, and license revocation of up to 36 months if your BAC is .20 or higher, as well as an ignition interlock device.
Confronting a serious charge such as a felony DUI demands a law firm that’s up for the challenge can negotiate with the prosecution and offer sound support, legal guidance, and direction when you need it most. Your life might depend on it.
If There are Penalties for a DUI, What Can Attorneys Do?
All DUI charges have penalties designed by the criminal justice system to punish offenders for criminal offenses, such as DUIs. As it’s the prosecutor’s job to protect the public and fight to convict you, there is no one to support you or your rights without legal representation.
Not every person with a drinking and driving conviction should face the same penalties. For example, if you did not hurt or injure someone, should you meet the exact charges as a drunk driver that did?
Hiring us is how you avoid settling for a lousy plea bargain or getting the maximum sentence and instead end up with charges that reflect your specific circumstances. This is also important if you were wrongly accused or there’s not enough information to hold against you. What if you missed out on that opportunity?
Increase your chances of success with the help of our criminal defense lawyers, whether it be a lesser sentence, reduced charges or penalties, or dropped charges, altogether. With thorough detail, we examine your case and search for any gaps or opportunities to build a defense in your favor.
Clients call on our DUI defense team for the challenging DUI cases we handle in Delaware, from first to repeat offenses. We’ve witnessed a variety of DUI offenses and scenarios, so we know exactly what you’re up against and the steps we need to take to get more favorable results in your DUI case.
Start with an initial consultation to learn more about Delaware DUI Defender and how our valuable legal counsel and guidance are what you need in a tough situation. Contact us today: (302) 654-4930.