Underage DUI Attorney in Dover, DE, Helping You Fix a Costly Mistake and Protecting Your Future
Nearly 20 percent of Delaware adults 18 and over binge drink at least once per month, according to a study from drugabusestatistics.org. Many of these underage drinkers get behind the wheel and change their lives, and sometimes the lives of others, in one night.
It doesn’t take much alcohol to get you into trouble on the road in Delaware. As little as one drink can get you arrested as the state practices The Zero Tolerance Law.
The rules, according to dmv.de.gov, state that if you are under 21 years of age, if you drive, operate, or have physical control of a vehicle, an off-road vehicle, or a motorcycle while consuming any alcohol or controlled substances, you can have your driver’s license revoked for two months for the first offense. Any subsequent violation can result in a six-month or 12-month suspension.
One mistake might cost you your future and jeopardize your education and career opportunities. Consult an experienced DUI attorney with a Delaware DUI Defender to avoid costly errors. Call us today to discuss your case: (302) 678-8700.
What Do I Need to Know About Underage Drinking and Driving?
Having a few drinks and driving might seem innocent enough, but it can put you, passengers, and other drivers on the road in grave danger. The best-case scenario is that no one gets hurt, and the worst-case scenario might include putting someone in the hospital or causing another person’s death that you have to live with for the rest of your life.
At a minimum, you might temporarily lose your driving privileges and face fines or, in more severe circumstances, a prison sentence. Drinking and driving is a choice, and it can be prevented.
A study published by drive-safely.net illustrates the unfortunate reality of teenage drinking and driving, including:
- Teens are 17 times more likely to die in a car crash when they have a blood alcohol (BAC) level of .08 percent.
- Every 15 minutes, a teenager will die due to drunk driving.
- 60 percent of all teen deaths from car accidents involve alcohol.
- About 55 percent of all teens killed in drinking and driving accidents were not wearing seat belts.
Always remember the bright future ahead, and know that one wrong decision can take it all away—or someone else’s future.
If you have questions about underage drinking and driving, contact our experienced underage DUI attorneys: (302) 678-8700.
If I Was Arrested for an Underage DUI, What Do I Do Next?
The state of Delaware mandates absolute sobriety behind the wheel. It is illegal for anyone underage to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol.
Law enforcement likely had enough reasonable suspicion to pull you over for drinking and driving if you were swerving, weaving, or recklessly driving, among other signs. You probably participated in a field sobriety test, breathalyzer, or blood test.
While not consistently accurate, this information can be used to convict you. Just because you were arrested, it does not mean you are automatically guilty. The time before and leading up to your trial is essential.
When you hire us, we examine your case and look for potential errors or omissions we can use to minimize your sentence possibly. In other instances, if there’s not enough evidence against you, we might be able to get your charges dropped altogether.
We will help you understand the implications of your underage DUI and possible legal solutions to resolve your charges. Book a consultation with a DUI attorney today: (302) 678-8700.
What are the Penalties for an Underage DUI?
If you are charged with an underage DUI or plead guilty, you could face one of the following penalties:
- In a first offense, loss of license for two months
- In a second offense, loss of license for six to 12 months
- A drug and alcohol evaluation
- Probation for one year
- Fines, including $200 for a first offense or $400 to $1,000 for any subsequent offenses
- With a guilty plea, a misdemeanor on record
- Increased car insurance rates or termination of the policy, altogether
University of Delaware students might not know a DUI can hinder their education. With a conviction, you could face possible expulsion and might have to change your plans as you deal with the consequences.
If you are a minor under 18 and your BAC is more than .08 percent, you might lose your license until age 21.
There are short- and long-term consequences of underage drinking and driving, and the results can be painful—financially, professionally, and socially, among others. You don’t have to face your underage drinking and driving offense alone—contact an experienced underage DUI lawyer with Delaware DUI Defender to discuss the details of your case: (302) 678-8700.
Can an Underage DUI Attorney Get Me Out of a DUI Charge?
Motor vehicle accidents remain the number one cause of death of young people from 12 to 19. Alcohol is often involved.
Driving is an important responsibility, and so is protecting the safety of other people on the road. There are no minor charges regarding DUIs, and every offense is taken seriously regardless of age, as it’s how the criminal justice system is designed.
Underage drunk drivers might be disadvantaged if caught, as the state wants to set an excellent example for positive driving behaviors early on. The penalties are harsh and can stick with you forever.
Bringing on the legal counsel of an experienced DUI attorney such as Schwartz and Schwartz, Attorneys at Law, P.A., early on might be the only opportunity you have to avoid the maximum sentence. As we’ve helped many clients achieve results with first-time to third DUI offenses, we can work to fight for a lesser charge on your behalf or get your charges dropped altogether.
Don’t let one mistake get in the way of your future. Speak with our experienced DUI attorneys and obtain legal representation today: (302) 678-8700.