The Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles embraces a safety initiative called the Problem Driver Improvement Program. It aims to reward good driving behaviors and penalize negative driving behaviors.
Every traffic violation you plead guilty to results in driver’s license points. Traffic violations include speeding, at-fault accidents, aggressive or reckless driving, and drunk driving, to name a few examples.
There are opportunities to repair a bad driving record over time, though points, or demerits, can lead to suspension of your license as they add up over time or reach the maximum limit.
What Traffic Offenses Result in Points?
Every state has a point system, and points against your driver’s license are based on specific traffic offenses. In Delaware, per dmv.de.org, there are simple and severe violations. Examples include:
- Speeding up to nine miles per hour over the posted limit results in two points, while excessive speeding of 20 miles per hour or more results in five points
- Reckless driving results in six points
- Aggressive driving results in six points
- Disregarding a stop sign results in three points
- Passing a stopped school bus results in six points
Traffic offenses that add up in a short time can be troublesome and might result in an advisory letter, mandatory loss of driving privileges, or a behavioral modification driving course.
What Happens After Too Many Points?
You do not want too many points or points to reach the maximum amount in a three-year period.
After accumulating eight points on your license, you will receive an advisory letter from the DMV. With 12 points, you could get disqualified from driving, and 14 points will earn you a mandatory fourth-month license suspension.
There might be opportunities to earn credits if you take a state-approved driving course through the DMV. For non-serious traffic charges, points expire after 12 months from the date of conviction, and the point value is reduced by half.
Our law firm can help you understand your charges and potential solutions to reduce traffic charges and avoid losing your license.
If I’ve Received an Advisory Letter, What Should I Do?
An advisory letter is a warning from the DMV that you are practicing negative driving behavior and causing safety issues on the road.
The DMV only sends an advisory letter after you have earned eight demerit points for traffic violations. Without attorney involvement, you must complete a behavior modification and attitudinal driving course within 90 days after notification, per the Delaware DMV’s guidelines.
Failure to comply will result in a two-month suspension.
If you have received an advisory letter, you have an opportunity to involve our attorneys. We will review your case and determine the best path forward that will result in the most favorable outcome for you and your driving record. Call our office today: (302) 678-8700.